I Don’t Know Why?

There are a lot of things that I don’t know. There are a lot of things that I simply don’t understand. There are a lot of things that I do not want to know. Why? Well there are many reasons why, so much so that it would just take too long to explain to you. 

I like to think of myself as a strong person, in fact I like to think of myself as someone who isn’t easily phased by things but today something fazed me. I was touched when I heard about how over 200 Nigerian school girls were kidnapped. I personally am not Nigerian but the sheer coldness of such an act has affected me.

After reading about this on my instagram I instantly yearned to write a poem. To find a beautiful blend of words and strategically combine them to express the feelings of a hostage girl. But then it hit me! 

I don’t know what it’s like to be abducted from a place that should provide me with safety.

I don’t know what it’s like to not know if I will ever see my parents again.

I don’t know what it’s like to have a gun raised towards me.

I don’t know what it’s like to be sold.

I don’t know what it feels like to be too scared to cry.

I don’t know what it’s like to dream of escape.

I don’t know what kind of scars an experience like that leaves behind.

I simply don’t know and that’s what scares me the most. Wanting to stop something, wanting to do something for these girls but knowing that there isn’t much for me to do is what hurts the most. Why do we (the people of the world) do these things to each other? Why are some people so cold?! 

All it takes is for someone to speak out! No matter what colour you are, what race you are, how old you are, how rich or poor you are, your gender, your sexuality or even your religion. We all play a big part in this big complex thing called life! 

I don’t know what these girls are feeling like or doing right now. What sucks the most about this whole situation is that I don’t know why?

Image

 

Venandah xo

Leave a Reply

